Encabezado Geodata

1st International Symposium
April 3 to 7, 2017
ROS Tower Hotel & Convention Center

Rosario - Santa Fe - Argentina

The Country

Argentina 01Argentina (official name Argentine Republic) is the second largest country in South America after Brazil, and the seventh largest in the world with an area of almost 3.8 million square kilometers. It borders with Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil and Uruguay. The name Argentina comes from the Latin term “argentum”, which means silver.

The Argentine territory has a varied landscape, where glaciers and arid regions coexist, mountain reliefs alternate with plains, rivers and lakes communicate with ocean immensity, and the steppe vegetation does not overshadow the forests scenario. The main characteristic of the Argentinean relief is the enormous contrast between the immense eastern plains and the impressive Andes mountain chain to the west, which has the highest peak in the Western hemisphere: the Aconcagua, with 6,959 meters.

Argentina 03Argentina has a lot to offer has a tourism destination: the majestic Puna in the north, the spectacular Iguazu Falls (declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO), the Pampas Plain, traditional ski resorts such as Bariloche and Ushuaia (the southernmost city in the world), the Perito Moreno glacier (which belongs to Los Glaciares National Park,  also declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO), and the whales’ colonies in Peninsula Valdes (http://www.argentina.tur.ar/, http://www.argentina.travel/).

Argentina 05

In the country there are four types of weather (warm, temperate, arid and cold), where the variations are determined by the size of the territory and relief features.

Argentina’s current population is more than 40 million inhabitants, where most of them live in the biggest cities like Capital Federal (Buenos Aires), Rosario and Cordoba.

There is complete religious freedom in Argentina. The Roman Catholicism prevails, but other religions like Protestant, Jewish, Moslem and others are also practiced.

Argentina 02